MSFA Miss Fire Prevention Contest
By Member Debbie Gartrell
June 18, 2017

The 38th Annual MSFA Miss Fire Prevention Contest took place on Sunday, June 18, 2017, in Ocean City, MD, at the Convention Center.

Lori Denbow welcomed everyone to the competition.

Richard Brooks once again served as the Master of Ceremonies.

Seven contestants competed for the title of Miss MSFA Fire Prevention 2017-2018. They were, Jennifer Franklin representing the MD Fire Chief’s (Winfield), Eve Van Horn representing Talbot County, Rachel Bowles representing Harford Cecil Firemen’s Association, Lauren Caudill representing Harford County, Emily Moyers representing Montgomery County, Lydia Hill representing Washington County, and Sarah Paul representing Carroll County.

Each contestant answered two fire prevention questions on stage. Earlier in the day, the contestants had interviews and presented their project to the judges.

While the judges deliberated, the outgoing ambassadors, Sierra Smallwood and Emily Reaver gave their farewell speeches.

MSFA President Mike Davis, LAMSFA President Barbara Sue Nelson along with State FM Brian Geraci also made remarks.

Teresa Crisman on behalf of the MSFA provided $500 to each the outgoing ambassadors to help defray costs.

Fire Prevention ambassadors in the audience were introduced by Susan Hilton and presented a certificate. Laurie Logue-Ruckman and Morgan Alder were present.

At the conclusion of the ceremony, Sarah Paul from the New Windsor Fire Department, representing Carroll County, was named MSFA Miss Fire Prevention 2017-2018, and Lauren Caudill from Harford County was named MSFA Miss Fire Prevention 1st Runner-up 2017-2018.

Congratulations to all on a job well done.

No Caption
No Caption